Alabama DUI Fines
If you are one of the many Alabama motorists who are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) each year, you may be curious about what lies ahead if you are convicted of the offense. Will you lose your driver’s license? Spend time in jail? While both of these penalties are possible, there’s one additional consequence to consider: the massive DUI fines you may incur if you are found guilty of driving under the influence.
How Much Will My DUI Conviction Cost?
Although the total amount of your fine will vary based on your history of DUI, as well as the circumstances of your arrest, you can expect to pay anywhere from $600 to $2,100 in fees if you are a first-time offender. However, this amount will only increase with each subsequent conviction—up to $5,100 for a second offense and as much as $10,100 for a third or fourth charge.
Along with any fines required by the court, you may incur a number of additional expenses if you are convicted of driving under the influence in the state of Alabama. In some cases, for example, the judge may order you to complete a driver’s education and/or substance abuse program—both of which will require enrollment fees.
If you are a repeat offender, you may also be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle (a device that prevents you from operating your vehicle unless you pass a breathalyzer). Once again, you will be responsible for any fees associated with this penalty—such as an initial installation fee, as well as a monthly maintenance charge.
Finally, you should also consider the long-term costs of your DUI conviction. As a convicted drunk driver, you can expect to pay two to three times more for auto insurance, and your conviction may also cost you countless employment, housing, and educational opportunities in the future.